Live for Christ

Are the things you are living for, worth Christ’s dying for?

This is the question I was challenged with in a sermon given by Oscar Muriu yesterday.  The day we accepted Christ into our lives is the day that we are supposed to have died to ourselves and become a new creation.  Practically this means that we should stop living for our own satisfaction and rather focus on satisfying God so that Christ’s death would be worthy of His sacrifice.

2 Corinthians 5:20-21 states very clearly that satisfying God means, we have to become ambassadors for Christ in the part of the world God has placed us in.  This representation should reflect his justice, mercy and compassion and we do this through our words and deeds, because we have the ability to testify the good news to others and make God’s appeal through us.

(2Co 5:20-21)

So we are ambassadors for Christ, since God is making his appeal through us; we entreat you on behalf of Christ, be reconciled to God.

For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.

But can I honestly say that this is the way I currently live my life?  Have I made peace with the fact that my true purpose in  life is to live for Christ alone, living and acting in ways to glorify His name so that my representation will assure many more to come to salvation?  I would like to think I have tried my best, but I know that many of my thoughts and decisions have not been with Christ as priority in mind.

This morning when I went through my prayer list I once again realised that many of my prayers is a reflection and attitude of fears and concerns that has to do with a focus on the self and the satisfaction thereof.   God knows our ways and thoughts and He has always promised us His love and protection.  He has created us because He wants us to live in communion with Him.  The struggle is what God’s intentions are with communion vs how we have defined it for ourselves.

The Lord’s idea of living in communion means we need to get involved with His plans, walk with Him in His ways and live with Him.  We however, so easily turn this concept on its head and expect God to become involved with our plans and walk with us on our little journey.

I think the most important thing about the question above is that it has pulled me a little out of my comfort zone and made me realise once again that it is impossible to try and juggle my priorities and Christ’s priorities.  God has given us the freedom of choice and we have to make that decision on a daily basis.

Am I prepared to put all my effort in one job, being a representative for Christ and living for Him alone, or is the “I” too important for me?

 

Leave a Reply

