What is God capable of?

What is faith? The Bible tells us that

…..faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen. (Hebrews 11:1) (NRSV)

Most importantly our faith is the hope we have in our unseen God and what we know about Him. If we don’t know much about Yahweh, who He is and what He is capable of, we cannot have much hope and faith in Him when it comes to the really important things like submitting our lives and circumstances over to God.

Part of building our faith is to get to know God in history as well as His actions in our daily lives today.  From what we can learn in Scripture do you truly believe that:

  • God is the Creator of all things (Genesis 1-2)
  • All Powerful (Luke 1:37)
  • Healer (Deuteronomy 32:39, Psalm 41:3)
  • Love (1 John 4:8,16)
  • Protector (Psalm 41:2, 12:7, 91:14-15), only to name a few?

One of the consequences of our faith is that it will also affect how we approach situations in our life as well as how and what we pray for. I have never really put much thought in how much my faith, or lack thereof, can affect my prayer life until I heard the following statement from Mark Batterson: “the size of your prayer is as big as the size of your God”.

If I cannot have enough faith in God’s attributes and who He is, how can I have enough faith to pray for BIG things? If God is not all powerful, Creator and in control of all things in my mind then it is going to affect my prayer in such a way that the size of my prayer requests will only be as big as my faith in God and what I think He is capable of.

I am realizing more and more that sometimes we are our own worst enemies when it comes to our relationship with the Lord. It may be unintentional, but we very easily put God in a box the size that we can cope with not realizing that we stunt God’s power and His abilities.

My God has no limits.  Maybe it is time to focus on growing my faith in God, put it into practice and live life in such a way that reflects this.

 

Leave a Reply

