Life – This is it!

I am not an adrenalin junky but in the last month I first Ziplined 40m high through a forest and a couple of days later paraglided down against a mountain top (tandem of course otherwise you would never get me there).  The adrenaline, fear and joy experienced while doing these things were absolutely amazing and something I will remember for the rest of my life.

But these are once off opportunities that does not come into my life on a regular basis.  Most of the time life is ruled by work/studies, kids and other responsibilities which can sometimes feel tedious.  I often think of Jeremiah 29:11 and I wonder when this plan that God has for me will kick into gear.  I am always worried that I will not recognise it, but until then I wait for it to happen in anticipation.

Jeremiah 29:11

“For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope” (ESV)

That it is until I recently went to see a movie called “The secret life of Walter Mitty”.  Walter lived a life like many of us.  A life of routine where there was not many surprises involved.  The only difference was that Walter dreamt about going places and having adventures, but none of this came true until he was literally forced to take a step into the unknown and experience life in the extreme.

Walter’s life made me think of my own and I had to recognise a couple of things:

  • Firstly, if I think my life is tedious it is my own fault and there is nothing that stops me from experiencing joy and the fullness of life on a daily basis.
  • Secondly, who says that I am not currently living out God’s plan for me?  God’s plan is not a once off situation.  It is life as I live it today.  Every step I take I live within His plan and I can therefore stop waiting and rather focus on making every day count, living my life to its fullest.
  • Thirdly, I have only one life to live and this is the one I am living now.  I have to learn to dream again about things I want to do, but it mustn’t stop there.  When I am old I want to be able to sit and reflect on how I was brave enough to step out to make some of those dreams a reality.  A life I have lived where I grabbed onto every opportunity with both hands.

Stop waiting for the future hope that God promises, but recognise its existence in your life today and live out God’s plan to the fullest.

One response to “Life – This is it!

  1. With all this inspiration, I would like to say AMEN.
    It makes me think about he Israelites that was so caught up in their own problems, that they forgot to live, really live. They forgot what God did for them in the Jordan, Jericho and providing food. Just to mention a few. Just like Walter they also took a step into the unknown. They forgot the dream of Canaan. Let us not forget God’s Grace we experienced already.

Leave a Reply

