Miracles confirm our faith in God

Miracles are real and is still happening today, but many a time we just do not know how to look out for them.  In my previous blog I mentioned that miracles do not always ensure that we grow spiritually mature in our journey, but at the same time we need to know that it confirms and encourages our faith, especially when we sometimes feel at our lowest.

If you are like me we tend to look for the “BIG” miracles forgetting that God reveals himself in the small and the seemingly insignificant things.  I have a friend who, with her husband and children, are farming.  Every now and again I will go and visit them for a day or two and it always strikes me how dependent they are of the land, nature and the will of God.

This is such a contradictory experience from those of us living in the city.  We are spoilt in the sense that everything is either available to us or we tend to try and control most things happening around our lives.  This dulls our senses and makes it more difficult to be aware of God’s daily miracles.  It is when you are dependent on something and realise that you have no control over factors that you realise God is everywhere and in everything and that His miracles occur around us on a daily basis.

Getting back to my friend.  Over the last couple of weeks we have been chatting continuously about how dry and hot everything is.  They were getting very worried because there have been no rain and they have therefore not been able to plant anything yet.  The situation had become so dire that all the food for the animals were finished and that they were literally starving.

Then yesterday I phoned her again to enquire about the situation.  This time however I could hear a change in her voice.  The weather was still hot and dry and there was nothing in the air to indicate rain, but she had 2 Chronicles 16:8-9 on her brain and she was walking around expectantly because God was going to bring rain today.

“Yet because you relied on the LORD, he gave them into your hand.  for the eyes of the LORD run to and fro throughout the whole earth, to give strong support to those whose heart is blameless toward him” – 2 Chronicles 16:8-9 (ESV)

By 3 o’clock that afternoon I got a photo sent to me that looked like rain, but in actual fact was a dust storm of the like that they have never experienced before.  When I saw it, I have to confess that my faith took a dunking and I thought that it was impossible that rain could come out of this situation.  I WAS WRONG!  Andrew Wilson in his book ‘Incomparable: Explorations in the Character of God’ says the following:

“…God often waits until the last possible moment before providing for us.  This is not just for fun; he does it to teach us to rely on him completely.”

The Lord brought rain and some relief out of a seemingly impossible situation and I had to stand back again with my head bowed because of my small faith, but at the same time with a smile on my face because the Lord has just once again confirmed His love for those who rely on Him fully.

God has control over this earth and everything that happens with and around us, we just need to start looking out for it.

One response to “Miracles confirm our faith in God

  1. Pingback: Blog Chill Day # 41 | Finding Order in Chaos·

Leave a Reply

